AHIMA-Approved ICD-10 Trainer Program

Please take the time to become familiarized with the benefits of participating in AHIMA’s AHIMA-Approved ICD-10 Trainer Program. Successful completion of the coursework and the end of learning assessment leads to designation as an AHIMA-Approved ICD-10-CM/PCS Trainer/AHIMA-Approved ICD-10-CM Trainer. The certificate represents the following:

  • Completion of a non-degree granting program designed to provide instruction and training towards acquiring specific knowledge;
  • The evaluation of such learning against intended outcomes (learning objectives); and
  • Demonstration of proficiency in the subject matter.

Becoming an AHIMA-approved ICD-10 Trainer allows the opportunity to provide prior-approved CEUs to students. This means students know your ICD-10 curriculum is approved by AHIMA.

ICD-10 Trainer status is valid annually through June 30th. The annual certificate renewal process is staged around code updates released by The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). For each renewal period, specific learning outcomes will be defined, educational program(s) provided, and a self-review designed to evaluate attainment of the intended learning outcomes. Successful completion of the renewal program extends ICD-10 Trainer status out through June 30th of the subsequent year.

Click here to find an ICD-10 Trainer

Renew your Certificate

Trainers with a certificate which expires June 30, 2017, will need to renew their certificate to maintain their status as an AHIMA-Approved ICD-10 Trainer and extend the expiration date out to June 30, 2018.

Please select ONE of the appropriate links below to purchase the 2017 Renewal Program based on your current designation:

CM/PCS Renewal Program  or  CM Renewal Program

After purchasing, you should receive the renewal program instructions included in your order confirmation by email within 30 minutes. You can also access the ICD-10-CM instructions and the ICD-10-CM/PCS instructions here.

To pay for the 2017 Renewal Program by check, please use the order form and follow the below instructions:

Paper order form

Payments via mail take approximately four to six weeks to process. Payment must be received prior to September 1, 2017. A $50 late fee will be applied to any payments postmarked July 1, 2017, or after.

If an order includes payment for multiple individuals, please ensure the payment total reflects the correct amount based on membership status and quantity, and an attachment including each Trainer’s unique AHIMA ID number, first name, last name, e-mail address, membership status, and whether the renewal is for the ICD-10-CM only or ICD-10-CM/PCS version. Once a check is processed four to six weeks later, the Trainer will receive an e-mail containing the access link to the 2017 ICD-10 Trainer Renewal program.  AHIMA is not responsible for checks received after the renewal deadline.

Mail the check and order form to the following address:

Dept. 77-2735
Chicago, IL

Click here to view the Trainer-Ambassador Guide.

Click here to search for an AHIMA ICD-10 Trainer.