Triumph awards

Celebrating the Remarkable Contributions of HIM Professionals from Around the Globe

2019 AHIMA Triumph Award Recipients

Sponsored by 

Award Categories: Descriptions, Qualifications, and Guidelines

Previous Triumph Award recipients

Application for the 2021 AHIMA Triumph Award

Applications for 2021 nominations are due by June 1, 2021.

2019 AHIMA Triumph Award Brochure

2019 AHIMA Triumph Award Recipients

Distinguished Member Award: 

Cassi L. Birnbaum, MS, RHIA, CPHQ, FAHIMA

Advocacy Award:

Ohio Health Information Management Association (OHIMA)

Educator Award:

Marquetta M. Massey, MBA, RHIA

Emerging Leader Award:

Kenneth H. Lugo Morales, MS, RHIA

Innovation Award:

Patricia S. Coffey, RHIA, CPHIMS, CPHI

Leadership Award:

Chrisann K. Lemery, MSE, RHIA, CHPS, FAHIMA

Mentor Award: 

Tressa A. Lyon, RHIT

Rising Star Award:

Laura A. Shue, MPA, CHDA, CPHIMS

General Guidance: Identifying Persons to Nominate for AHIMA Triumph Awards

Potential sources for nominees include the following: State Leaders, Fellows, and other HIM professionals who have distinguished themselves as leaders.

Nominations Guidelines

All nominations must be submitted using the 2020 AHIMA Triumph Awards application, completed in its entirety. Nominations must follow the nomination guidelines and must include the supporting materials listed below. Nominations for the 2020 Triumph Award nominations are due by June 1, 2020.

Individuals who have previously won a particular award are not eligible to win that award again, even if it has been reformatted. They may, however, be nominated for a different award. The Nominator is responsible for assuring that all required documentation is collected for the nominee. Incomplete submissions may adversely impact the committee's ability to adequately and fully evaluate a nominee.

The AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee will review all nominations for determination of award issuance. If none of the nominees for a particular award reflect the level of achievement expected of an award recipient, the committee reserves the right to recommend that the award not be presented.

Members of the AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee, the AHIMA Board of Directors, and AHIMA staff are not eligible for awards during their term of service, even if the service for which they would be nominated occurred prior to their term of service or employment.

All nomination materials become the property of AHIMA. Materials cannot be returned.

AHIMA strives to reflect in its membership and leadership the diversity within the United States, including race, ethnicity, gender, age, sexual orientation, special needs and other diverse populations. AHIMA encourages the celebration of promotion of diversity through education mentoring, recognition, leadership and other programs.

Nominations & Awards

Nominations for the 2021 AHIMA Triumph Awards are due by June 1, 2021, for recognition in 11 award categories (See Award Categories: Descriptions, Qualifications, and Guidelines). Nominees must be AHIMA members or corporate sponsors (see nomination guidelines for rules and exceptions)  Nominations are only acceptable via the online application.  No exceptions.

Application for AHIMA Triumph Award

AHIMA Triumph Awards Presentation 2020

AHIMA Triumph Award recipients will be notified on or before August 2020; and presented with the awards at the 2020 AHIMA Health Data and Information Conference in Atlanta, GA. While not mandatory, all recipients are encouraged to be present or to designate an individual to accept the award on their behalf.  Award recipients will be featured in the Journal of AHIMA and on the AHIMA website in the AHIMA Triumph Awards section. In addition, AHIMA will provide all awardees with a press release for distribution to recipient’s local media outlets.

2020 AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee Members




Mary Beth Haugen, MS, RHIA
Heather Hunn, RHIA
Kenneth Lugo Morales, MS, RHIA
Megan McDougal, MS, RHIA, CHTS-IM
Isabel Quintana, RHIA, CCA
Tarsha Walker, RHIT, CCS

To find out more about the AHIMA Triumph Awards, please visit our Web site. Nominations for 2021 awards are due by June 1, 2021.