Triumph awards

Celebrating the Remarkable Contributions of HIM Professionals from Around the Globe

Sponsored by 


Since their inception in 1994, the AHIMA Triumph Awards have honored those professionals responsible for advancing the field of health information management (HIM). Each year, AHIMA members nominate those that have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, volunteerism and talent. As part of a long and cherished tradition, the Triumph Awards continue to be the highest recognition of excellence, dedication and service, and are presented annually at the AHIMA Convention & Exhibit.

Award Categories: Descriptions, Qualifications, and Guidelines

Previous Triumph Award recipients

Application for AHIMA Triumph Award- Nomination Due by June 1, 2018

2017 AHIMA Triumph Award Recipients, and Chair, Ginna E. Evans, MBA, RHIA, CPC, CRC, FAHIMA

2017 AHIMA Triumph Award Recipients

Distinguished Member Award

Angela C. Kennedy, EdD, MBA, RHIA

Advocacy and Public Policy Award

Colleen A. Goethals, MS, RHIA, FAHIMA

Educator Award

Jacqueline A. Moczygemba, MBA, RHIA, CCS, FAHIMA
Alice M. Noblin, PhD, RHIA, CCS

Emerging Leader Award

Diana M. Flood, MS, RHIA
Deanna M. Peterson, MHA, RHIA, CHPS

Innovation Award

Truman Medical Centers Health Information Management Department
Sarah Shaver Laird, RHIA, CCS
Elizabeth A. Whitmer, RHIT, AHDI-F

Leadership Award

Mary Beth Haugen, MS, RHIA

Literary Legacy Award

Kathy Giannangelo, MA, RHIA, CCS, CPHIMS, FAHIMA

Mentor Award

Stefanie R. Brumberg, RHIA

Research Award

Varadraj Prabhu Gurupur, PhD, RHIA

Rising Star Award

Karen D. Reynolds, MBA, RHIA

Student Award

Marques Edgar Grant, RHIA
Alexa Kilfoy

2017 AHIMA Triumph Awards Brochure

General Guidance: Identifying Persons to Nominate for AHIMA Triumph Awards

Potential sources for nominees include the following: State Leaders, Fellows, and other HIM professionals who have distinguished themselves as leaders.

Nominations Guidelines

All nominations must be submitted using the 2018 AHIMA Triumph Awards application, completed in its entirety. Nominations must follow the nomination guidelines and must include the supporting materials listed below. Nominations for the 2018 Triumph Award nominations are due by June 1, 2018.

Individuals who have previously won a particular award are not eligible to win that award again, even if it has been reformatted. They may, however, be nominated for a different award. The Nominator is responsible for assuring that all required documentation is collected for the nominee. Incomplete submissions may adversely impact the committee's ability to adequately and fully evaluate a nominee.

The AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee will review all nominations for determination of award issuance. If none of the nominees for a particular award reflect the level of achievement expected of an award recipient, the committee reserves the right to recommend that the award not be presented.

Members of the AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee, the AHIMA Board of Directors, and AHIMA staff are not eligible for awards during their term of service, even if the service for which they would be nominated occurred prior to their term of service or employment.

All nomination materials become the property of AHIMA. Materials cannot be returned.

AHIMA strives to reflect in its membership and leadership the diversity within the United States, including race, ethnicity, gender, age, sexual orientation, special needs and other diverse populations. AHIMA encourages the celebration of promotion of diversity through education mentoring, recognition, leadership and other programs.

Nominations & Awards

The 2017 nomination process is now closed.  Nominations for 2018 will be accepted through June 1, 2018, for recognition in 12 award categories (See Award Categories: Descriptions, Qualifications, and Guidelines). Nominees must be AHIMA members or corporate sponsors (see nomination guidelines for rules and exceptions)  Nominations are only acceptable via the online application.  No exceptions.

Application for AHIMA Triumph Award

AHIMA Triumph Awards Presentation 2017

AHIMA Triumph Award recipients will be notified on or before August 2017; and presented with the awards at the 2017 AHIMA Convention & Exhibit in Los Angeles, CA. While not mandatory, all recipients are encouraged to be present or to designate an individual to accept the award on their behalf.  Award recipients will be featured in the Journal of AHIMA and on the AHIMA website in the AHIMA Triumph Awards section. In addition, AHIMA will provide all awardees with a press release for distribution to recipient’s local media outlets.

2018 AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee

Danielle Berthelot, MHI, RHIA, CHTS-IM

Marie T. Conde, MPA, RHIA, CCS, FAHIMA
Diana M. Flood, MS, RHIA
Marques Edgar Grant, RHIA
Varadraj Prabhu Gurupur, PhD, MS, RHIA
Manjusri Nguyen, RHIA
Grissel Pabon, MS, RHIA, CDIP, CCS, CCS-P
Patrice L. Spath, MA, RHIT, CHTS-IM

Staff Liaisons
Marilyn K. Render
JoAnn V. Coleman, MPA, CAE